Hey baby, what’s your sign?

7 Jun

This is my horoscope today (I’m an Aries, in case you were wondering, and if you know anything about astrology, that probably explains a lot):

You spend a lot of time worrying about how others view you. Instead of assuming the worst, try to see yourself through your lover’s eyes.

It’s understandable to be concerned about what others think, but you’ve also got to follow your heart and be true to yourself.

Focus on your assets and let your flaws fade to the background.

(Ok, fine – this is a combination of my “daily couples” and “daily singles” horoscope. I’m in that weird place where I don’t really know where I fall, and both were relevant, so I combined them. Feel free to send your complaints, and I’ll file them in my “It’s my blog and I don’t give a fuck” folder.)

Worrying about what people think is a common side effect of my anxiety. Because the flaws seem so magnified in my mind, OBVIOUSLY they’re glaringly apparent to the outside world. Regardless of how you feel about the whole horoscope thing (I like to read mine because it makes me take a second to stop and think, but I don’t normally put a ton of stock into them), sometimes it’s nice to know that you maybe aren’t the only one who feels the way you do. Kind of like when you read this blog, and you see how bat shit I am sometimes, and you either think… wow, I’m glad she hit every branch of the crazy tree on the way down instead of me, or – wow, I’m glad I’m not the only one who obviously was dropped on their head too many times as a baby.

I read something the other night that kind of struck me: When you compare yourself to other people and/or when you are feeling insecure, remember that you are comparing your behind the scenes with someone else’s highlight reel.

I hope I can remember this, and that it can calm me in times of anxiety. And maybe you, too?

PS: I apologize/you’re welcome for my prolonged absence from blogging. I’m back now, and I can totally tell how happy that makes you.

Leave a Reply

