I’d Be A Great Santa

8 Jun

So, if you know me, you know that I plan fundraising events for a living (although most of you, including me sometimes, don’t really know what that means). If you don’t know me… I plan fundraising events for a living (a walk and a 5k). And now that we’re all on the same page:

I’ve come to the conclusion I would never be able to have a job where making lists, checking things off those lists, and creating spreadsheets, time tables, and site layouts were not the norm.

When it comes to anxiety, having a plan is a huge comfort. 98% of my job involves coming up with a strategic plan, following that plan, and preparing for anything that might go wrong. (But knowing that if you’ve prepared enough, the chances of anything going wrong are slim-to-none.) I like the security that comes with knowing what’s going on. I’m the kind of girl who updates her Outlook and iPhone calendars constantly, and might have a meltdown if for some reason they don’t sync.

Let me give you an example.

When I worked in Wisconsin, I managed four walks: Madison, Milwaukee, Green Bay, and Wausau. Three were within six weeks of each other. That’s a lot of spreadsheets. It’s not uncommon to go to sleep thinking about work (I used to tell my boss I could hear his voice while I drifted off), but I tend to dream about my events. This particular walk season, I managed to have a dream that the colors in my Excel spreadsheet did not match my shoes.

No, really.

And I had to spray paint my shoes to match the spreadsheet.

You can’t make this kind of shit up.

I think this might be an example of how I can sometimes take things to extremes, but it also illustrates just how detailed the plans need to be to provide comfort. (No, I did not actually spray paint my shoes. Obviously I would just change the color of the spreadsheet. I mean… I would never do something like that. That’s crazy. I certainly did not do this for the event last weekend. Shit. Excuse me, I have to update some spreadsheets before anyone sees them.)

Leave a Reply

