Spring Cleaning

18 Jun

Yes, I know it’s June. Yes, I also know that I live in Texas and spring is about three days long. This isn’t about actually cleaning anything (please, I only clean on very rare occasions and even then only for very special guests).

The last few months of my life have been incredibly tumultuous. (Hey, now there’s a real grown-up word!) Without going into detail or casting blame, I’ve spent the last few months feeling like I was in a losing battle with someone I used to consider a very close friend. I felt like I had to hide a part of my life that was very important and means a lot to me, because this person would get angry if I revealed it.

That is not how you’re supposed to live your life. You’re supposed to be able to tell your friends stuff (especially when you’re mostly all kinds of happy and content) and not worry that they’re gonna get “mad” at you. You also shouldn’t have to worry about THEIR friends getting mad at you. Your real friends will be happy because you’re happy.

I would like to share with you one of my very favorite quotes. It’s really hit home over the last week, and I think it will make sense to a lot of you, as well.

“There comes a time in life when you have to let go of all the pointless drama and the people who create it. Surround yourself with people who make you laugh so hard you forget the bad, and focus solely on the good. After all, life is too short to be anything but happy.”

And I can honestly tell you… right now, I am incredibly, incredibly happy. No one and no situation is perfect, but right now I’m smiling more than frowning, and that has to count for something, right? I can’t tell you what’s going to happen tomorrow, or next week, or 5 years from now… but I do hope that I can always remember this feeling of happiness, if only to know that it does, indeed, exist for me.

The people who have been a sounding board and support system for me over the last few months mean the absolute world to me. They are my real friends. And ding dang – I am just so lucky to have them.

 

One Response to “Spring Cleaning”

  1. kel June 18, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    FINALLY!!! i love love love you. so happy you realize you need your true happiness. you deserve it. you spend your whole life/career trying to fix other peoples situations they are not able to help themselves with. you deserve the moon & stars. your true friends know that. ❤

Leave a Reply

