A Comprehensive and Ongoing List of Things That Give Me Panic Attacks

27 Jun

And when I say “comprehensive”, I mean “I’m discovering new, fun things every day!”

1. Large groups of people in an unfamiliar environment
Twice as bad if it’s hot. Three times as bad if there are kids screaming.

2. Noise
Maybe because I’m an only child that grew up in the country where the only noise was Kirby or the lawn mower, I find too much noise very, very overwhelming. Interestingly, I am perfectly content at the race track (without ear plugs. Sorry, Mom.)

3. Fireworks
They’re noisy. And they’re bright. And people make a lot of noise when they see them.

4. Being lost
I doubt there are many people who ENJOY being lost, but it sends me into a tailspin. I cannot carefully craft every minute of my day if I don’t know where I am.

5. The Phone
Yeah, I know. How much lamer does it get? The cell phone age has made this increasingly easier, but I still despise calling people on the phone. (Unless they’re friends or family, of course.) Especially panic inducing are lists of phone calls. Returning one message is no big deal, but put a list in front of me (even of team captains who KNOW ME), and I will require a handful of drugs to complete the task. Better yet… give the list to someone else, because if you leave it with me, 95% of the time it won’t get done.

6. Ferris Wheels
I got stuck at the top of one at a Hormel company picnic when I was aprox. 4 years old. It felt like days. I still have nightmares. (Ok, that last part was a lie. But thinking about riding one makes me wanna curl into a little ball and rock back and forth for a while.)

7. Driving in winter weather
Since the accident I had in high school, even the thought of driving in snow/ice gives me a headache. Wonder why I moved to south Texas?

…that’s all I can think of right now. But I’m pretty sure putting thought into this list will become a line item of its own.

One Response to “A Comprehensive and Ongoing List of Things That Give Me Panic Attacks”

  1. Wendy L. Little August 8, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    With you on the large, noisy, crowded issue. Personal space and the only thing that needs to be semi-loud is my dance music.
    Used to be this store called Incredible Universe – sold everything you could possibly imagine that plugged into a wall. I called it NOT so Incredible Universe. Could NOT handle going in there – gave me tunnel vision.

Leave a Reply

